Look What the Cat Dragged In!

It’s been a long time since my last post. There’s really no one reason, just a million little ones. I recently heard somewhere (and by somewhere, I mean on one of those addicting “Real Housewives” shows on Bravo), “The longer you are away from something, the easier it gets to live without it.” I don’t want to live without the blog, because I love it, it’s just so easy to find other things to do with my free time. This also means that I have been very bad at my blog reading. I apologize for any of you who think I have been snubbing you. It’s not that at all! I miss reading all ‘my’ blogs as much as I do writing this one! But, alas, I am back and have a TON of things to write about (and a TON to catch up on from all of you!).

I’ll try to get you up to speed quickly and then get back on track with regular postings.

Things with Sarge are going well. The “Ottoman Empire” has fallen, and he is officially sleeping in our bed. After his five day streak when we first introduced the ottoman, he started to try to climb on the bed and we spent all night trying to prevent him from climbing up. We could have been more strict, I guess, but honestly, for me the more dogs in the bed the better. Nola protested at first, and would jump down every time Sarge came near her on the bed, but now she settles on one side of me and stay as long as he is not touching her. Recently, she has even allowed his paw to ever so slightly touch her leg.
snuggleWe haven’t received any applications or even inquiries about Sarge. It’s so frustrating because I know the only reason that he is being overlooked is his age. He is such an easy and wonderful dog, I wish I could get people to look past the number on his profile. He did great at the book signing with Ken Foster, and although we didn’t get any applications for him, BURN contacted me and said someone made a donation to the rescue in his name after meeting him.
sarge curled upNola is taking an advanced Noseworks class, which introduces her to searching for a specific odor. I am excited to give her some alone time doing something she loves! The class also allows me to work with her on some mat training. It is my goal this summer to teach her that when her purple (of course!) mat is out, it means she needs to lay down and chill on it. At class she is usually too interested in the other dogs taking their turns and will not sit or lay down. Now, she is doing much better and now settles in quickly when it is not her turn. I hope to be able to translate this to other places where I need her to just ‘chill.’
nola odor classSo that’s pretty much it. The Mr. and I have been doing lots of traveling, not together unfortunately, so there hasn’t been a whole lot going on other than the normal schedule of working, dog walking and everyday life. It’s also been unusually hot and humid for June in Maine, so we’ve had to spend a lot of time inside in the air conditioning.
couch insideI have a few days off coming up because of the 4th of July holiday, so I promise to be better at posting. Hope you all have a wonderful Independence Day!

7 thoughts on “Look What the Cat Dragged In!

  1. I’m not surprised to hear that the Ottoman Empire fell…. it is so hard to say no when they are so close! And an elderbull like Sarge deserves to have the most comforts… which obvs means sleeping in bed with his foster people!

    Have you guys considered adopting Sarge yourself? He seems to fit in pretty well with your fam!

  2. We know the feeling of having no inquiries all too well! Edwin has had a lack of interest until recently. Rusty also had very few inquiries despite being young, adorable, trained, well-behaved and fun. Sarge will find his home, even if it takes some time.

  3. Keep your head up, someone will see Sarge for the gem that he is! That is, unless you pull a “Morgan” and just adopt him like I did with Maggie 😉 Best of luck keeping cool. It’s be extra miserable here in FL, too.

  4. So glad you’re back on the blog! I figured that you were busy, but I kept thinking “where’s Nola Kisses?!” I’ll admit that I’ve been a total blog slack lately too and haven’t been reading blogs religiously like I did in the past. I hope to get back to it all soon!!

Leave a Reply

