Book Review: Wedding Dogs

Two of my favorite things, ever, are weddings and dogs. I spend more time than I like to admit watching wedding shows on TLC. And, ever since we got Nola two years ago, I can’t remember the last time I read a non-dog book. If you put those two things together I am in crazy dog lady/girlie heaven. So, when I was asked to review a book called Wedding Dogs: A Celebration of Holy Muttrimony, I enthusiastically said yes!
weddingdogs_final_72Just reading the description of the book made me giddy.

Wedding Dogs features fabulous photographs and stories of the special canines who joined in the celebration of their owners’ big day. Decked out in tiny tuxedo or collars of roses. the pooches portrayed in Wedding Dogs run the gamut from tiny Chihuahuas to fluffy Siberian huskies; all played an important role in their owners’ nuptials. Whether serving as the maid of honor or best man, ring bearer or flower girl, or even acting as an honorary envelope liker- these dogs steal the show!”

And when I received the book, I was not disappointed. This book is the cutest thing EVER. I loved flipping through the beautiful photographs of people and their dogs. I enjoyed reading the little stories about each wedding day and the unique way the pup was a part of it. I literally smiled the whole time I read it. I mean what’s not to love? It’s dogs and weddings, remember?IMG_3788The Mr. and I got married a little over a year ago. Having Nola there was logistically impossible, but after seeing all these photos it makes me wish we figured out a way to have her in some of our wedding photos. These are memories that people will cherish forever, and why wouldn’t you want ALL of your family to be a part of it?IMG_3791Some of my favorite photos, were of course, the Boxers and the French Bulldogs. But, there were a multitude of breeds represented, including Labs, a couple of Great Danes, some Bichons, and the CUTEST bull dog puppy. It would have been nice to see some smiling pittie faces, but it felt like the ‘bully breeds’ were represented in many of the photos.
IMG_3787If the book isn’t enough, on the website, you can look at more photos that people have uploaded of their wedding dogs. They also have a Facebook page, so if you’re addicted to looking at dogs in wedding attire, head on over there and ‘Like’ them.

This book would be the perfect engagement or wedding shower gift for any dog loving bride. It comes out April 16, just in time for the beginning of the Spring/Summer wedding season! Or, you could just buy it for yourself, it looks pretty great on my coffee table too! I promise you won’t be disappointed. Head on over to Amazon to buy your copy!

P.S. Did any of you have your dogs as part of your wedding? Or at least in the photos?

P.P.S. I was provided the book for free to review, but the opinions in this post are mine, and I was not compensated for the review.

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Wedding Dogs

  1. Both of my dogs were OF COURSE in my wedding šŸ™‚ I couldn’t have had it any other way. They were TERRIBLE at the rehearsal dinner, and my mother, who isn’t much of a dog person was all (very sarcastically) Oh, yea Chelsea. This is a great idea.” But they were PERFECT the whole day of the wedding. They got to be with me the entire time we got our hair done, when I put my dress on, for our first look and throughout the ceremony. The best part was that they got to spend the entire weekend with us. I don’t think the wedding would have been as special without them included. I’ll upload a picture to my facebook if you want to check it out! I actually wish I had gotten more pictures with them, but at least they were there!

  2. So cool that you got to review the book! It sounds like a really great one for wedding lovers! Seeing as we are not married (yet) I don’t have much experience in this department, but I have dreamed of including Athena in our wedding. However, I really don’t think that could realistically happen because she’s so naughty, I’m sure she would do something to create some chaos! I do like your idea of including dogs just in the wedding photos though. That might be something I will have to consider! Although, once again, I can just imagine Athena jumping up on me and ripping my dress or something……

    Maybe Athena won’t be such a puppy once we (finally) get married. I mean, we’ve been together for 9 years already, so it’s about time isn’t it (cough, cough…are you reading Brennan?).

  3. I love the thought of including the pooches and I’ve seen some a.maze.ing photos of that. Since we’ve been married for so long maybe Ray could be included of we ever renew our vows.

  4. My boyfriend and I are going seven years without engagement–we are the weird type who don’t feel too rushed about it, but if we got married it would be a must to have photos with the pups.
    I have friends here who recently had a destination wedding (in the same state however) and their three pups joined in as part of the festivities. My favorite photo was all three girls by a sign that said ‘Our Humans Are Getting Married.’

Leave a Reply

