Nola’s DNA results

If you saw my post yesterday, you might be wondering what these three pictures have in common, and what the ‘missing link’ is.
jindo2 m boxerAs most of you guessed, the answer is they are all the breeds that make up Nola!

nola_cutThe first question anyone asks us when meeting Nola is “What is she?” She has a very unique look, with the combination of her fawn color and white accents mixed with her yellowish eyes, floppy ears and large jowls. Before I can answer, a number of suggestions are usually thrown my way. The most common include: Pit Bull, Boxer, Vizsla and Rhodesian Ridgeback. Usually I just say, “She is a rescue, a mixed breed, and she is such a good girl.” But in reality, I know exactly “what she is” because we had her DNA tested through a Wisdom Panel only a couple months after we got her, back in 2010. So what are the results? Could you guess the mix from the pictures above?
Nola-DNA-Report 2Nola is 25% Jindo, 25% Belgian Malinois and 50% Boxer. The Boxer is pretty obvious just from looking at her, and I can see some Malinois characteristics, but Jindo? I had never even heard of the breed before this.
Nola-DNA-Report 5 Nola-DNA-Report 6 Nola-DNA-Report 4We didn’t realize that so many of her personality traits are common in both Boxers and Belgian Malinois, including: intelligence, hard working, eager to learn and responding best to reward based training and love of dog sports! And, she DEFINITELY jumps on people, which is ALL Boxer. It is something we constantly work on with her, and she is getting better as she gets older, but she does ‘box’ with her front paws when she plays, which is A LOT. Jindos are also know for intelligence, and a highly tuned sense of smell. We have signed Nola up for a Noseworks class in February, so hopefully her Jindo ancestry will help her excel!
IMG_4205So now I will share a secret about the real reason behind this DNA test. When we first decided to adopt Nola, the Mr. and I were what I call ‘dog ignorant.’ We pretty much knew nothing about raising a puppy and when we showed pictures of Nola to people, the first thing they said to us was “she looks like a pit.” Of course, we had been brain washed by the media about pit bulls so we were concerned. It didn’t make us want her any less, but we decided to have her DNA tested so that we could be prepared if she was in fact a pit bull. Looking back now, I am not sure what we would have done differently if the results had shown she had a bully breed in her heritage. It seems so silly now, we still would have socialized her, gone to obedience classes with her, and loved her every second of every day. Now I wish she DID have some pit in her, so she could work as an ambassa-dog for the breed! But, we love her for what she is, a Bel-jind-oxer-ois.
IMG_4101

20 thoughts on “Nola’s DNA results

  1. I love the idea of testing DNA to better understand any mixed breed dog. I think if she had come back pittie, or labby or part cat, you would do two things: love her just the same and promote the hell out of her uniqueness! She is SO lovely!

  2. I’m wondering if the Jindo mostly comes from a line from a very, very long time ago?? I know it’s an ancient breed so it’s possible it’s common in a ton of breeds. Nola is so gorgeous, and I always asumed she had boxer in her. I’m surprised there’s no viszla or rhodesian.

  3. Oh she’s definitely an abassa-dog even if she doesn’t have any pit in her DNA because she’s so very helpful to her pittie foster siblings =) Her DNA results are so very interesting. She looks so unique to me, I’ve always wondered exactly what makes up a Nola. So glad you decided to share =)

    I can’t wait to hear about her nosework class!!! I bet she will love it!

    • Thank you! I will definitely post about her nose-works class once it starts. She’s doing CGC training now, and I want to write about it, it’s just tough to get pics when you’re the one doing the training! I’ll have to get the Mr. to help!

  4. She is still a great ambassador for the breed because she LOOKS like she’s part pit, and thats what people base their opinions on. There’s no such thing as a pitbull.. most of the ones that you see on the street are mixes just like your Nola that look part pit. You can not only use her as a pitbull ambassador but also to argue against BSL. You can bet you’d be hard pressed to keep her in a city where bullys aren’t allowed. Either way she’s cute and YOU’RE supporting the breed so we love it!

    • It’s true. I often think about how if I brought her down to Boston, where there has been a law that pit bulls must be muzzled in public, we would probably be stopped and forced to muzzle her. It’s a perfect example of why BSL doesn’t work.

  5. Cool! I’m jealous that you got such solid results. Mine came back with tons of mixed breed in them which still leaves me wondering. I’ve never heard of Jindo either! She can definitely still call her an embassadog because just like you said, many people think she’s a pit anyways!

    Did you find yourself telling people these results after you got them or did you stick with rescued mixed breed when asked about her breed? Just because though I got mine tested, I still stick with pit mix or mutt as my answer:)

      • I only heard of Belgian Malinois about a year ago when I saw a trainer use them in a protection demo. I thought they were just some weird lookin German Shepherds…haha. But they were incredibly intelligent, athletic and hard-working…very impressed!

  6. I’ve never heard of a jindo either!
    I once read an awesome article on StubbyDog from a couple who had a dog labeled pit mix and he ended up not having pit in him. The remark the couple made was that people assuming he was a pit bull allowed him to be a great ambassador regardless of his breed and I thinkt hat’s true.

  7. Pingback: Sarge’s DNA Revealed! | Mr. & Mrs. & Nola Kisses

Leave a Reply

