Yes…No…Yes…No?

I’ve come to realize that fostering can bring many highs and lows to a person’s life. Overall, our first foster experience with Delaynie was a high. She brought so much joy into our lives and she is doing so well in her forever home. But it was a lot of work and there were some emotional lows. It’s only been two weeks since we said goodbye to the monkey, but the Mr. and I have already started thinking about when the right time will be to get our next foster. B.U.R.N., the rescue we work with, has so many dogs they want to help, but not enough fosters.They reached out to us last week about a beautiful blue nose pit who is currently at the NHSPCA and needs a foster. After reading about him and seeing his smiling happy face in photos, I instantly fell in love and my mind starting racing.

Could this handsome guy be our next foster?
Nola seems to do better with males, so he could be a better fit.
But it’s only been two weeks since Laynie.
Nola is so happy to have all our attention back, is it fair to her to do this again right away?
I’m SO busy at work, will I have enough time?
The adjustment period takes time, and patience, am I ready for that again?
It’s only been two weeks since Laynie.
I am traveling for work in a couple weeks and so is Jim. Is it going to be too much for one person with both dogs?
What if he fits in so well it is not a hard adjustment at all?
What if he doesn’t get along with Nola?
It’s only been two weeks since Laynie.
And so on and so on…

This is where my indecisiveness really kicks in. I could go back and forth thinking about every possible aspect of any decision for days and that is exactly what I did all weekend. Ultimately it came down to the fact that it just doesn’t feel right yet. Life is such a juggling act, between work, family, friends, and dogs, it can just stretch you so thin. The busyness of my job comes in cycles and we had Delaynie in the down time of the cycle so I could work from home, take a few extended lunches, and use some vacation time to help her and Nola adjust. But now, I just don’t have that flexibility. Next week I have a marketing summit that will leave me no free time, and the following week I will be in Miami working a trade show. Then when I come home, Jim will be going to Minneapolis for a few days, home for the Fourth, then he’s off again to Philly. In other words, we are too busy. I feel a bit selfish saying that, but I also don’t think it would be fair to the foster pup to only have a small percentage of our attention. I want to devote as much time and energy as I can to a foster, and right now I have very little of those things.

So, I said no. And it breaks my heart. But, B.U.R.N. has another foster lined up for him, so he will be rescued from the shelter anyway. I am yearning to help another dog in need, animal rescue is very addictive! I know that there will never be a shortage of dogs that need foster homes (even though I dream of a day when that will be the case) so when things calm down I will be knocking at B.U.R.N.’s door for another pup to share the highs and (hopefully not many) lows of life with.

8 thoughts on “Yes…No…Yes…No?

    • Thanks for the reassurance! I just love dogs so much that I would have tried really hard to find a way to make it work. But I think everyone would have suffered. And BURN has great foster families so I know he’ll be well taken care of.

  1. I totally understand where you are coming from – it has been hard for me to say no to fostering since Lucy Lou was adopted, but with school, graduation, vacations and job seeking, it just hasn’t been the right time. When it’s the right time you’ll know, and for now, you can do a lot of other things to stay involved (volunteering at the shelter or rescue, transport, etc) if you want to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

