Nola Muffin Monday: My Foster Sis’ Laynie

Hi everyone, Mommy asked me to write on her blog about Laynie. She keeps telling me that she’s only going to be here for a few more days and that she is going to her forever home. It’s been a long two months with her here, and  I’m really glad that this is not her forever home, but I think there are some things I am going to miss about Laynie.

When she first came here I was confused. Mommy had packed that big black box and left for a little while. Daddy said it was for work. When she came back she brought a big black dog. Mommy and Daddy took us for a walk together and instead of going home like Payson does when we walk with his mom Shelley, she stayed. In MY house! Can you believe it? I spent the first couple of days trying to show her that this was my house- my toys, my food, my Mommy and Daddy. But she was just so pushy and Mommy said she wasn’t leaving, so I decided it was easier to just let her stay and let try to be ok with it. Mommy and Daddy did help me when she tried to take my bone or when she bit my legs when we played. Man, does that hurt! She’s got some serious teeth! I am NOT going to miss that.

Mommy said we had to be nice to her and show her that we love her because she hasn’t had an easy life like I have. I don’t know what they are talking about, did they forget everything that has happened to me?! How can they not remember that mean dog that bit me, or when my nail broke and the vet had to make me sleepy to fix it, or when I was coughing so much I couldn’t go to daycare. I mean what is worse than not being able to go to daycare and play with my friends?! But, I guess they are right. She did have some puppies when she was only 7 dog years old. Although it might be kind of fun to have puppies around to play with. Also, they said she lived in her crate for a long time. I liked my crate but I wouldn’t want to be in there all the time. So, I tried to pretend like I didn’t care when she would always have to sleep with her leg on me, or her back to me, or even all the way on top of me. I figured it was the least I can do.

Once I got used to sharing everything and having my routine all changed, I tried to teach Laynie the ropes because I am the older one, even if it is only by one month. I taught her that she should ignore the squirrels, birds, and cats that we pass when we’re walking. She is still working on that one. I showed her that you have to go back to Mommy and Daddy when they say ‘here.’ And when they yell it with a deep voice you REALLY have to go back. She is still working on that one, too. I taught her that you get more attention when you are calm and that jumping up isn’t something the people like. I tried to show her how I get into the bathtub all by myself and that it’s not scary, but she really doesn’t like it and Daddy always has to pick her up and put her in. And, most of all, I showed her that life can be full of fun, love, and lots of kisses when you have the right people like my Mommy and Daddy.

She taught me a few things too. Like when she plays with the ball she brings it back- all the way back to Mommy and Daddy! I really don’t know why, they always get it for me when I don’t bring it back. But she seems to get a lot of ear scratches when she does that, and the game goes longer! Also, I see how much it hurts Mommy’s arms when Laynie pulls her down the street, so I try my best to stay right next to Mommy. Secretly, I want to be up in front like Laynie, but I get more chicken treats if I stay next to Mommy.

Everyone keeps using the word foster when they talk about Laynie. Mommy and Daddy are fostering Laynie, Laynie is my foster sister. I don’t really know what that means, but from what Mommy and Daddy have been saying, we helped Laynie. They seem really sad lately and they said this weekend was the last weekend we’d have with Laynie. All I know is that we got to go to the beach and play at Fuller Farm this weekend and we had fun! Although I get annoyed when she takes my spot on the couch next to Mommy, I think I am going to miss that little black dog. I am looking forward to getting all of Mommy and Daddy’s attention, and getting to play with my toys again, but I am glad that we could help Laynie find a forever home. I guess fostering means being annoyed and having to share, but also helping another dog that needs it.

2 thoughts on “Nola Muffin Monday: My Foster Sis’ Laynie

  1. Pingback: Nola Muffin Mon-Tuesday: The Puppy | Mr. & Mrs. & Nola Kisses

Leave a Reply

