The Adjustment Period- Day 2

I took the day after we picked up Delaynie off from work so I could spend some quality time with her. Nola went to daycare so she could have a break as well. Delaynie and I went for a walk around Back Bay and I realized she is going to need some work to learn how to walk on a leash. She is so strong and loves to pull. But, she was very respectful when I corrected her and she just seemed happy to be out exploring.

Exploring the Bay.

Then, Delaynie got her first visitor, our family’s Dog Whisperer, my aunt Michelle. She came over to help me introduce the two pups again. Jim brought Nola home from daycare and we let the two pups meet a little more in the kitchen. It didn’t go too well, Nola still seemed unsure of this new dog, but it was better than the night before. We decided to go for another pack walk and then try the house again. It took a bit of mouthy/rough play, and some corrections, but the pups finally managed to settle down.  Michelle was such a big help.

Tired from walking and playing. Tolerating each other for now.

At dinner time we had a bit of an incident where Delaynie got out of the room we designated as her feeding place and tried to eat Nola’s food. She was not aggressive or mean, she just wanted to see what Nola was eating! Nola did not appreciate that at all. The incident upset me and was the tipping point of a very stressful day. I had never seen our happy, loving little puppy go after another dog like that. It broke my heart. It really made me reconsider this decision. Is fostering the best thing for our family? Is this going to work?

At bedtime we decided to move the crate into our bedroom. We hoped that Nola would settle in a little bit better if Delaynie was somewhere she could see her. We were right. Both pups settled right in and went to sleep. Delaynie was great in her crate. Thankfully Jim and I got some sleep as well. It was an overwhelming day, and I was nervous about how the next day would go.

If you’re interested in adopting Delaynie please fill out an application with BURN. If you would like more information about her, email me at: mrandmrsandnolakisses@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “The Adjustment Period- Day 2

  1. Pingback: Rescue Bucket List | Mr. & Mrs. & Nola Kisses

  2. Pingback: Laynie Needs Your Help | Mr. & Mrs. & Nola Kisses

Leave a Reply

